Your Sound Alternative
On Now:
Playlist Archive
Join us on: YouTube

Sports Archive


Underwood NSIC Coach of Year, 22 Huskies Earn Honors

11/16/2011 - 10:30 AM

Facebook Twitter

Underwood NSIC Coach of Year, 22 Huskies Earn Honors

Headed into its First Round NCAA Playoff matchup this weekend, the St. Cloud State Football team continues to rack up accolades. Coach Scott Underwood was named the 2011 NSIC Coach of the Year Tuesday, and 22 Huskies earned themselves All-Conference honors.

St. Cloud had eight first team All-NSIC North Division selections, including three on offense. Center Scott Horvath, quarterback Phillip Klaphake, and offensive tackle Matt Theis all received top honors. On defense Thomas Gruis, Tony Kubes, Marvin Matthews, and Matt Schwartz all gained first team honors.

After leading his team to a tie for the North Division title and overall NSIC Championship this season, Underwood took home Coach of the Year honors. St. Cloud has had a winning record in all four seasons with Underwood at the helm, and a 31-9 NSIC record in that time.

His Huskies are 9-2 this season, and take on Wayne State University on Saturday in the NCAA Playoffs. Kickoff is slated for Noon, and KVSC will have the call. Pregame coverage starts at 11:45 with Dave Overlund having the call.