Your Sound Alternative
On Now:
Playlist Archive
Join us on: YouTube

Sports Archive


WCHA Awards Announced

03/14/2013 - 5:00 AM

Facebook Twitter

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) announced league honors today. The Huskies earned a few big titles this season including WCHA Player of the Year, Student Athlete of the Year and Defenseman of the Year awards. Sixteen Huskies were also members of the All-Academic team.

Senior, co-captain, Drew LeBlanc skated away with the league’s highest honor, the Player of the Year. He was also named the Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year and is a member of the All-WCHA First team. It’s the first time in league History that the same player has earned both the Player of the Year and Outstanding Student-Athlete award. LeBlanc is one of the 16 members of the Huskies squad who was named to the All-Academic Team. It’s his fourth time as a member of the Academic team and fourth time receiving the WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award.

Nick Jensen, junior and alternate captain was named the Defensive Player of the year. He is also a member of the All-WCHA First team. Jensen is a leader on the blue line for the Huskies, playing in 113 consecutive games. He ranks eighth nationally among Division I defensemen with 28 points this season. Jensen is also on the All-Academic team and is a Scholar-Athlete for the second time.

Click here for a complete look at the leagues award honors this season. The Huskies that earned academic award honors include: David Morley, Brooks Bertsch, Brandon Burrell, Joey Holka, Tim Daly, Joe Rehkamp, Jarrod Rabey, Andrew Prochno, Nic Dowd, Kevin Gravel, Ryan Faragher, Ben Hanowski, Drew LeBlanc, Nick Oliver, Nick Jensen and Joe Phillippi.

Sports Schedule

  • Women's Soccer vs Sioux Falls (Sports Stream)
    Oct 19, 2018 - 1:00
  • Volleyball vs Concordia-St. Paul (Sports Stream)
    Oct 19, 2018 - 6:00
  • Men's Hockey vs Northern Michigan University
    Oct 19, 2018 - 7:07

Submit your local sports event here.